IXIAH Knows the Formula for Success = 100 Squared

“100 Squared Emerging Designer Market in conjunction with Shop til You Drop and Westfield Sydney are pleased to announce the winner of the Emerging Designer Search as Krystel Davis’ clothing label IXIAH.”

IXIAH, a Sydney-based fashion label, for those with an individualistic spirit, who dare to be different but not necessarily eccentric. The sophisticated tailoring, formed by sharp shoulders, high waists and military styling is contrasted with raw organic elements, creating the signature look that Davis is becoming renown for within her collections.

To celebrate their entry to 100 Squared, IXIAH is launching in style with an event on Thursday 23rd May, 2013 from 6pm and 8pm. Guests will be treated to the unveiling of the new IXIAH Winter Collection, with the chance to purchase pieces for their wardrobe on the night – and the best part, everyone is welcome, so come along sip some coconut water and talk fashion with the designer!

IXIAH Launch Invitation

I caught up with IXIAH designer Krystel Davis to talk about the range and her inspiration:

Can you tell us a bit about IXIAH and how the line came about?
IXIAH (pronounced ex’ sy’ ah) is essentially for those with an individualistic spirit who dare to be different but not necessarily eccentric. IXIAH strives to be unique and focuses on an intricate attention to detail in each design. The label was started out of pure ambition, perseverance and determination. The main goals were to create a product that would sit alongside our competitors and really stand out from a design perspective. Our quality is to the highest standard and our prices are affordable

 I love the brand name, what’s the meaning behind it and how did you come up with it?
My design aesthetic is unique and I really needed the name behind the collections to emulate this. I wanted something that had no connotations and could be set to create its own meaning based on the product.

This genus name derives from the Greek word ‘ixias’ which translates into having chameleon characteristics. I liked this as my industry is rooted in the very idea of ‘changing skins’. Through further research I came across a unique floral, ‘Ixiah’ which had traits of sword-like leaves, and star-shaped flowers. I thought this befitting of my trademark whereby I often engage with a design balance of masculine / feminine shape and form. This direction inspired me and thus the title IXIAH was born.

 How would you describe the IXIAH woman?
The IXIAH women has an individualistic spirit who dares to be different but not necessarily eccentric. Many of the label’s fabric detail consists of raw organic elements, unusual ropes and gilded tapestries. She is bold, confident and not afraid to take risks. She likes to exude her personality through her style.

IXIAH

 Where do you get inspiration from when designing?
When I design I am heavily influenced by travel & culture. Colour is also an inspiration and a core element of each IXIAH collection. I also find fabrics can inspire me in many ways as certain fabrics exude certain designs and create ideas. I try to stay to true to the aesthetic I have created with IXIAH so I can’t say I’m even influenced by certain designers as my ideas are always constantly changing and evolving.

 How would you define your personal style?
My style is strong, I tend to wear the tougher pieces from my collections. I’m not generally a ‘dresses’ type of girl. I love to layer pieces and I love to wear the over-pieces that frequently feature through the collections. I would absolutely say my style does define my personality – strong, fun, confident and sometimes a little shy.

Do you have a favourite piece from the current collection?
I would have to say the Congress Jacket. The details in it are really intricate and striking. The fabric is a metallic coated quilted fabric that I have had custom made for the ‘Inscription’ collection. The double lapel is a great feature and it easily creates a great outfit!

What can we expect to see next from the brand, both from the new collections and overall?
A continual line of strong collections that focus on intricate designs that give our consumer a strong sense of style is all I can dictate at this point but there are many exciting things in the pipeline so we will keep you posted.

What was the best piece of advice you’ve ever been given?
To always respect people as you never know who you will meet and where it may lead you.

IXIAH 2

Check out the IXIAH website HERE Or visit their Facebook page HERE

Leave a Reply

